Committee details


Purpose of committee

In order to ensure that Members of the Council (including co-opted Members) observe the Council’s Code of Conduct for Members, the Council will establish a Standards Committee.


The appointment and composition of the Standards Committee will be in compliance with the provisions of sections 101 and 102 of the Local Government Act 1972 and Regulations made thereunder.  The Council by resolution made on 16th May 2012 resolved that the rules of political proportionality in Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 should not apply in respect of the Standards Committee.


            The Standards Committee shall comprise of 5 members who shall consist of:


            (a)        five elected Members of the Borough Council;


            (b)        two  co-opted Town or Parish Councillors with no voting rights;


            (c)        two co-opted Independent Members with no voting rights;


            (d)        the Chairman of the Standards Committee shall be appointed by the Committee at its first meeting in each municipal year;


            (e)        the two co-opted Town or Parish Councillors cannot be Members of the Borough Council;


            (f)        the Independent Person appointed in accordance with section 28 of the Localism Act 2011 shall be invited to attend meetings of the Standards Committee.



Contact information

Support officer: Corporate and Democratic Support. 01442 228209