DACORUM BOROUGH COUNCIL

MEETING OF THE COUNCIL

17 MAY 2017

Present:

MEMBERS:

Councillor Williams (Leader) Councillors, Gbola Adeleke, G Adshead, Anderson, Armytage, Banks, Mrs Bassadone, Bateman, Bhinder, Birnie, Brown, Herbert Chapman, Clark, D Collins, E Collins, Conway, Douris, Elliot, England, Fantham, Fethney, Fisher, Guest, P Hearn, S Hearn, Hicks, Howard, Link, Maddern, Mahmood, Marshall, McLean, Mills, Peter, Ransley, Riddick, G Sutton, R Sutton, Taylor, Timmis, Tindall, Whitman, C Wyatt-Lowe and W Wyatt-Lowe

OFFICERS:

Solicitor to the Council and Monitoring Officer, Corporate Director - Finance and Operations, Group Manager - Democratic Services and Chief Executive

The meeting began at 7.30 pm

1 MAYOR

Councillor McLean made a speech in relation to his year as Mayor.

Councillor McLean asked for nominations for the election of a Mayor to hold office until the appointment of a successor at the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2018.

It was moved by Councillor C Wyatt-Lowe, seconded by Councillor G Sutton and unanimously

Resolved:

That Councillor D Collins be appointed Mayor to the Borough of Dacorum until the appointment of a successor at the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2018.

Councillor McLean vacated the chair which was taken by Councillor D Collins who made his declaration of acceptance of office

The Mayor delivered a speech of acceptance.

COUNCILLOR DAVID COLLINS

The newly elected Mayor referred to the duties carried out by Councillor McLean as Mayor of the Borough of Dacorum during the previous year.

It was moved by the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Williams and unanimously

Resolved:

That the Council tender to Councillor Robert McLean their most cordial thanks for the admirable manner in which he has discharged the duties of the office of Mayor of the Borough of Dacorum during the past year and place on record their appreciation of the energy and sound judgement which distinguished his actions during that period: That the Seal of the Council be affixed to a copy of this resolution: and that it be presented to him in recognition of his services as Mayor of the Borough of Dacorum.

2 DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor asked for nominations for the appointment of the Deputy Mayor to hold office until the appointment of a successor at the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2018.

It was moved by Councillor Bassadone, seconded by Councillor Williams and unanimously

Resolved:

That Councillor Councillor R Sutton be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Dacorum until the appointment of a successor at the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2017.

Councillor Councillor R Sutton made her declaration of acceptance of office.

3 MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 19 April 2017 were agreed by the Members present and were then signed by the Mayor.

4 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies were received on behalf of Councillors Griffiths, Harden, Imarni, Matthews, Ritchie and Silwal.

5 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made.

6 ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor welcomed newly elected Councillor Armytage to the Council who was the Ward Councillor for Berkhamsted West.

7 THE LEADER, CABINET, OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY AND REGULATORY COMMITTEES 2017/18

a) The Council received from Councillor Williams the appointments of the Deputy Leader and the other Members of the Cabinet and their respective Portfolios.

Councillor Mrs Griffiths – Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Housing Councillor Harden - Portfolio Holder for Residents and Corporate Services Councillor Elliott - Portfolio Holder for Finance and Resources Councillor Sutton - Portfolio Holder for Planning and Regeneration Councillor Marshall - Portfolio Holder for Environmental Sustainability and Regulatory Services.

- b) Proposals for the Cabinet, Chairmen and Vice-Chairs, Members and substitute Members to serve on the Standing Committees until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2018 were circulated as set out in Annex A to these minutes and agreed.
- c) Nominations to the pool of Members who are trained, or who are to be trained, to serve on the Appeals Committee as and when required were received and agreed.
- d) The Chair/man, Vice Chair/man and Shadow Chair/man of the Standing Committees (except the Standards Committee) were appointed.
- e) The Chair/man of the Standards Committee will be elected by the Committee and Substitutes are permitted.
- f) Councillor Birnie be appointed to the Hertfordshire County Council Health Committee as Dacorum Borough Council's representative.

Cllr Williams noted that there was a further vacancy on the Licensing Health & Safety Enforcement Committee and therefore requested that authority be delegated to the Leader to fill that vacancy. This was agreed.

The Meeting ended at 8.10 pm