Present:

MEMBERS:

Riddick (Mayor), Adeleke, Allen, Anderson, Arslan, Barry-Mears, Banks, Barrett, Bassadone, Beauchamp, Bhinder, Birnie (Deputy Mayor), Chapman, Claughton, Dhyani, Douris, Elliot, England, Foster, Freedman, Griffiths, Guest, Harden, Hearn, Hobson, Imarni, Johnson, Link, Maddern, Sobaan Mahmood, Suqlain Mahmood, Peter, Oguchi, Pringle, Ransley, Rogers, Sinha, Stevens, Sutton, Symington, Taylor, Timmis, Tindall, Townsend, Wilkie, Williams and Wyatt-Lowe (47)

OFFICERS:

The Chief Executive, Strategic Director (Place), Assistant Director (Legal and Democratic Services), F Hussain (Head of Legal and Democratic Services), C O'Neil (Corporate Support Team Leader), D Bulpit (Events Officer) and T Angel (Corporate and Democratic Support Officer)

The meeting began at 7.30 pm

1 MAYOR

Councillor Stewart Riddick made a speech in relation to his year as Mayor of Dacorum.

Councillor Stewart Riddick asked for nominations for the election of a Mayor to hold office until the appointment of a successor at the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2023.

It was moved by Councillor Williams, seconded by Councillor Griffiths and unanimously

Resolved:

That Councillor John Birnie be appointed Mayor to the Borough of Dacorum until the appointment of a successor at the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2023.

Councillor Stewart Riddick vacated the chair which was taken by Councillor John Birnie who made his declaration of acceptance of office.

Councillor John Birnie delivered a speech of acceptance.

The newly elected Mayor referred to the duties carried out by Councillor Stewart Riddick as Mayor of the Borough of Dacorum during the past year.

It was moved by the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Williams and unanimously;

Resolved:

That the Council tender to Councillor Stewart Riddick their most cordial thanks for the admirable manner in which he has discharged the duties of the office of Mayor of the Borough of Dacorum during the past year and place on record their appreciation of the energy and sound judgement which distinguished his actions during that period: That the Seal of the Council be affixed to a copy of this resolution and that it be presented to him in recognition of his services as Mayor of the Borough of Dacorum.

2 DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor asked for nominations for the appointment of the Deputy Mayor to hold office until the appointment of a successor at the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2023.

It was moved by Councillor Anderson, seconded by Councillor Barrett and unanimously;

Resolved:

That Councillor Alan Johnson be appointed Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Dacorum until the appointment of a successor at the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2023.

Councillor Alan Johnson made his declaration of acceptance of office.

3 MINUTES

The minutes of the previous meeting will be considered at the next Council meeting.

4 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received on behalf of Councillors Durrant, Hollinghurst, McDowell and Silwal.

5 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

No declarations of interest were made.

6 ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

7 APPOINTMENT OF THE CABINET, OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY AND REGULATORY COMMITTEES 2022/2023

Proposals for the Cabinet, Chairs and Vice-Chairs and Members to serve on the Standing Committees until the Annual Meeting of the Council in 2023 were circulated as set out in Annex A to these minutes and agreed.

The Leader issued notice of amendments to the Cabinet positions for information purposes only, as set out in Annex A.

The Mayor advised that concluded the business for the evening and declared the meeting closed.

The meeting ended at 8.11 pm.

ANNEX A

MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET, OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEES, POLICY DEVELOPMENT PANELS AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE 2019-2023

CABINET

Cabinet Portfolio Holder	Conservative
Leader of the Council	Cllr Williams
Corporate Services	Cllr Elliot
Housing Services	Cllr Griffiths (Deputy Leader)
Neighbourhood Services	Cllr Barrett
Communities	Cllr Banks
Place	Cllr Anderson
Commercial Strategy & Delivery	Cllr Williams

OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEES

HOUSING AND COMMUNITY (13 members = 8:5)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Gbola Adeleke (Vice-Chair)	Roxanne Ransley
Neil Harden	Lara Pringle
Nigel Durrant	Nick Hollinghurst
Isy Imarni (Chair)	Sammy Barry-Mears
Alan Johnson	Simy Dhyani
Suqlain Mahmood	
Pearl Oguchi	
Colette Wyatt-Lowe	

FINANCE AND RESOURCES (13 members = 8:5)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Gbola Adeleke	Christopher Townsend
Frances Arslan	Stephen Claughton (Vice-Chair)
Terry Douris (Chair)	Sally Symington
Bert Chapman	Ron Tindall
Fiona Guest	Rick Freedman
Sobaan Mahmood	
Suqlain Mahmood	
Babita Sinha	

STRATEGIC PLANNING AND ENVIRONMENT (13 members = 8:5)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Neil Harden (Chair)	Garrick Stevens
Rob Beauchamp	Adrian England
Stewart Riddick	Sheron Wilkie
Penny Hearn	Nigel Taylor
Colette Wyatt-Lowe	Anne Foster
Mark Rogers (Vice-Chair)	
Rosie Sutton	

Jane Timmis	

HEALTH IN DACORUM COMMITTEE (10 members = 6:3:1)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat	Independent
Rob Beauchamp	William Allen	Jan Maddern
Alex Bhinder (Chair)	Nick Hollinghurst	
Nigel Durrant	Lara Pringle	
Fiona Guest (Vice-Chair)		
Alan Johnson		
Babita Sinha		

AUDIT COMMITTEE (6 members = 4:2)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Stewart Riddick	Christopher Townsend
Bert Chapman (Chair)	Sally Symington
Sobaan Mahmood	
Goverdhan Silwal	

DEVELOPMENT MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE (13 members = 7:5:1)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat	Independent
Rob Beauchamp (Vice-Chair)	Phil McDowell	Jan Maddern
Nigel Durrant	Garrick Stevens	
Fiona Guest (Chair)	Ron Tindall	
Stewart Riddick	Nick Hollinghurst	
Terry Douris	Claire Hobson	
Colette Wyatt-Lowe		
Andrew Williams		

APPEALS AND REVIEWS COMMITTEE

APPEALS (8 members = 5:3)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Gbola Adeleke	Brenda Link
Hazel Bassadone (Chair)	Phil McDowell
Penny Hearn (Vice-Chair)	Roxanne Ransley
Rosie Sutton	
Colette Wyatt-Lowe	

LICENSING AND HEALTH AND SAFETY ENFORCEMENT COMMITTEE (12 members = 8:4)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Hazel Bassadone	Brenda Link
Alex Bhinder (Vice-Chair)	William Allen
Penny Hearn (Chair)	Lara Pringle
Isy Imarni	Vacancy
Alan Johnson	
Colin Peter	
Mark Rogers	
Rosie Sutton	

LICENSING AND HEALTH AND SAFETY ENFORCEMENT SUB-COMMITTEE (6 members = 4:2:0)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat	
Hearn (Chairman)	Link	
Bhinder (Vice-Chair)	Pringle	
Bassadone		
Sutton		

LICENSING OF ALCOHOL & GAMBLING SUB-COMMITTEE (3 members = 2:1:0)

This Committee consists of a Panel of 3 Members who are picked from the Members of the Licensing and Health and Safety Enforcement Committee. Only Members who have had training on the Licensing of Alcohol & Gambling Sub-Committee can sit on this Panel.

Conservative	Liberal Democrat

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (5 members = 3:2)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Alan Anderson	Roxanne Ransley
Goverdhan Silwal	Rick Freedman
Colette Wyatt-Lowe	
Independent Town Council Rep	

APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (5 members = 3:2)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Margaret Griffiths	Ron Tindall
Andrew Williams	Stephen Claughton
Colette Wyatt-Lowe	

ELECTORAL REVIEW COMMITTEE (6 members = 4:2)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Alan Anderson	Garrick Stevens
Terry Douris	Nick Hollinghurst
Margaret Griffiths	
Andrew Williams	

OTHERS

JNC (JOINT NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE) (4 members = 3:1)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Bert Chapman	Ron Tindall
Isy Imarni	
Gbola Adeleke	

MEMBER DEVELOPMENT STEERING GROUP (6 members = 4:2)

Conservative	Liberal Democrat	
Goverdhan Silwal	Rick Freedman	
Alex Bhinder	Sammy Barry-Mears	
Terry Douris (Chair)		
Margaret Griffiths		